Skip navigation

2007 Stone Soup Luncheon and Awards Program

At the Stone Soup Awards Luncheon and Program, the Center for Community Engagement's second annual Civic Engagement Awards program, held on October 17, 2007, a total of seven awards for exemplary community and university engagement were given in five categories.

2007 Award Winners

Community Partner Award- The Dakota Science Center

The Community Partner Award was given to the Dakota Science Center for its collaboration with UND faculty and students on science-related learning projects, including two summer science camps. Supporters of the Dakota Science Center's nomination noted that it has inspired parents and children in acquiring an interest in the field of science

Public Scholar Award- Marcia Mikulak

The Public Scholar Award was given to Marcia Mikulak, UND assistant professor of Anthropology. Support for her nomination noted her impressive local work on domestic violence with the Community Violence Intervention Center and her community-based research relevant to women and children in Brazil, which has resulted in significant scholarly publications and locally distributed research.

Engaged Department Award- Social Work

The Engaged Department Award was given to UND's Department of Social Work. The department, through students as well as faculty, was noted by nominators as clearly demonstrating the value of community engagement by providing professional expertise and research for its many community partners.

CASE Award- Santana Dougherty

The Carter Academic Service Entrepreneurship (CASE) Award was given to Santana Dougherty, a Communication major, for her proposal of a project aimed to develop a website for Grand Forks Homes. Dougherty, under the supervision of Social Work faculty member Carenlee Barkdull, used the $1000 award to develop a website to connect volunteers from the eight churches that support Grand Forks Homes to those in need of the organization's services.

CASE Award- Britney Sudmann

A special at-large CASE Award was given to Britney Sudmann, majoring in Peace Studies and Theatre Arts, for her proposal to create a program, in collaboration with the UND Conflict Resolution Center, of interactive theatre games for teens in the Lutheran Social Services "Day Report" program. The project was selected because of its innovative combination of conflict resolution and theatre. The project was supervised by Janet Moen, UND Peace Studies and Sociology.

Paul V. Boswell Community Scholar Award - Alan Allery & Cheryl Saunders

The Paul V. Boswell Public Scholar Award is presented in memory of Paul Boswell, who served as director of the Native Media Center before his death in 2006.

The UND Multicultural Student Services Office also presented the Paul V. Boswell Community Scholar Award to the late Alan Allery, who had been Director of UND's Student Health Services, and Cheryl Saunders, who served as Director of the University Learning Center, with until leaving the University this summer. Awards are given to individuals who have demonstrated exemplary community involvement and service through their everyday lifestyle and their commitment to help and support others.