Skip navigation

About the Committee


Dr. Laurie Betting


Dr. Laurie Betting

UND Interim Vice President for Student Affairs





Mr. Ken Vein


Mr. Ken Vein

Grand Forks City Council



Committee Members  
Dr. Laurie Betting  Associate Vice President for Health & Wellness, UND
Ms. Macy Christianson UND Student, Miss Grand Forks
Ms. Jane Croeker Director of Health & Wellness Promotion, UND
Ms. Deb Davis Director of Alcohol & Drug Unit, Northeast Human Service Center
Ms. Sarah Horak CFO, Third Street Hospitality, LLC
Mr. Matt Kopp UND Student Body President (Student Representative)
Chief Mark Nelson Grand Forks Chief of Police
Chief Eric Plummer Director of Public Safety/Chief of Police, UND
Ms. Anna Spray UND Student Representative
Mr. Jon Strandell Principal, Central High School
Mr. Jody Thompson Assistant Superintendent of Teaching & Learning, Grand Forks Public Schools
Ms. Haley Thorson Grand Forks Public Health Tobacco Task Force
Mr. Bill Vasicek Co-Chair, Grand Forks Substance Abuse Prevention Coalition
Mr. Matt Walkowiak Owner/Operator, Ground Round
Dr. Sharon Wilsnack Professor of Clinical Neuroscience, UND

History of the CCC

The Community and Campus Committee to Reduce High-Risk Alcohol Use (CCC) was formed following a charge from Grand Forks Mayor Michael Brown and former UND President Robert O. Kelley.  The CCC began convening in the summer of 2013 and was borne out of concerns raised from individuals in the Grand Forks community, on the UND campus, and at the recommendation of the city's Service Safety Committee.  The purpose of the committee is to attempt to change the culture of drinking alcohol to one that is responsible and low risk. The committee is composed of community and campus representatives and includes members from law enforcement, Grand Forks Air Force Base, Grand Forks Public Schools, hospitality industry, community members, Department of Public Health, UND students, and UND faculty and staff.