Minutes of the University Senate Meeting September 5, 2019

1.

The September meeting of the University Senate was held at 3:30 p.m. on Thursday, September 5, 2019 in Room 113, Education. Past Chair Paul Todhunter opened the meeting and new Chair VanLooy presided.

2.

The following members of the Senate were present:

Alberts, Crystal Jendrysik, Mark Petros, Tom Bailey, Tamba-Kuii Jeno, Susan Pierce, David Robinson, Julie Blackburn, Royce Keengwe, Jared Rundquist, Bradley Carlson, Craig Khavanin, Mohammad Self, Noah Shivers, Jed DiLorenzo, Thomas Legerski, Elizabeth Dodge, Michael Lian, Gracie Sum, Paul Du, Guodong Linder, Meloney Ernst, Julia Maine, Whitney Gable, Christopher McGinniss, Mike Gjerde, Quinten McLean, Riley Wankooy, Jeff Gosnold, William Meek, Steve Malker, Stephanie Halcrow, Steven Millspaugh, Richard Heitkamp, Thomasine Mochoruk, James Henley, Amy Munski, Doug Wilson, Nick Wolfgram, Meaghan Hume, Wendelin Oancea, Cristina Iiams, Michele Oltz, Tammy Pedersen, Daphne

3.

The following members of the Senate were absent:

Bjerke, Elizabeth Kostrzewski, Diana Olson, Devon Clauson, Tyler Lindseth, Paul Sauer, Michelle Delhommelle, Jerome Liu, Jun Sens, Donald Dusenbury, Mark Matz, Adam Sens, Mary Ann Gjellstad, Melissa Mihelich, John Tande, Brian Halgren, Cara Murphy, Eric Wynne, Joshua Juntunen, Cindy Nonte, Stephen

4.

Mr. VanLooy thanked outgoing chair Todhunter. He then reviewed the University Senate rules and procedures, as well as parliamentary procedure.

5.

Mr. VanLooy called attention to the goals of the University Senate for this year. He announced that there will be a Senate forum on September 19, 2019 with the Presidential Search Committee Co-Chairs. There is also an upcoming State of the University Address/University Council meeting on September 23.

Ms. Legerski updated the Senate on the status of the Council of College Faculties.

7.

Ms. Maine updated the Senate on the status of Staff Senate.

8.

Ms. Lian updated the Senate on the status of Student Senate.

9.

Quorum was established.

10.

The May 2, 2019 University Senate minutes were approved without objection.

11.

Mr. VanLooy gave the following SEC updates: 1) the Summer Graduation Candidates were approved; and 2) the Student Success and Wellness Period proposal was reviewed.

12.

The twenty-minute question period opened at 4:02 p.m.

Mr. Jendrysik stated that UND has no presence in the western part of North Dakota and inquired if there were plans to increase UND's presence.

Mr. Petros inquired about mission the Research Committee. Mr. VanLooy stated that he was still unclear of the mission and vision of the Committee, but stated the main mission is to increase collaboration between research universities. Mr. Petros requested that the Committee's agenda items be publicized.

Ms. Alberts asked if UIT was understaffed, as it appears the current ticket turnaround time is very slow. Madhavi Marasinghe, UIT CIO, stated that they are understaffed, but in the process of filling positions. She will visit with the team to see what happened regarding the English department requests.

The question period ended at 4:09 p.m.

13.

Mr. VanLooy called attention to the Intercollegiate Athletics Committee annual report; without objection, the report was accepted and filed.

14.

Mr. VanLooy called attention to the Faculty Instructional Development Committee annual report; without objection, the report was accepted and filed.

Mr. VanLooy called attention to the University Curriculum Committee annual report; without objection, the report was accepted and filed.

16.

Mr. VanLooy called attention to the August 2019 Graduation Candidates; without objection, the list was accepted and filed.

17.

Mr. VanLooy called attention to the election ballots for Senate Vice-Chair/Chair Elect, faculty representative on the Senate Executive Committee, two Senate faculty members on the Committee on Committees, staff representative on the Senate Executive Committee, and student representative on the Senate Executive Committee. The election results are as follows:

Senate Vice-Chair/Chair Elect - Elizabeth Legerski
Faculty Representative on the Senate Executive Committee - Mark Dusenbury
Faculty Representatives on the Senate Committee on Committees - Melissa
Gjellstad and Wendelin Hume
Staff Representative on the Senate Executive Committee - Whitney Maine
Student Representative on the Senate Executive Committee - Gracie Lian

18.

Mr. VanLooy called attention to the Senate Committee on Committees revised charge. Mr. VanLooy moved to approve and Mr. Munski seconded the motion. Ms. Jeno added an amendment to make the past-chair a voting member. Mr. Millspaugh seconded the amendment and the motion along with the amendment carried.

19.

The meeting adjourned at 4:36 p.m.

Scott Correll, Secretary University Senate