## Minutes of the University Senate Meeting September 2, 2021

1.

The September meeting of the University Senate was held at 3:30 p.m. on Thursday, September 2, 2021, via Zoom Conference. Past Chair Liz Legerski opened the meeting and Chair Cristina Oancea presided.

2. .

The following members of the Senate were present:

Armacost, Andy Brandt, Sonja Cherry Oliver, Emily Chu, Qianli Clark, Travis Correll, Scott Cox, Paula Dauphinais, Kirsten Dorafshan, Sattar Doze, Van Dutchak, Dawson Gjellstad, Melissa Hammond, Sean Helleloid, Duane Henley, Amy Henneman, Emily Homstad, Stephanie Hume, Wendelin Iseminger, Colt Jedlicka, Janet Jendrysik, Mark Johnson, Erika

Jordan, Rachel Juntunen, Cindy Kalbfleisch, Pamela Karikari, Isaac Kehn, Andre Kraus, Robert Laguette, Soizik Legerski, Liz Liang, Lewis Light, Steven Lim, Howe Liu, Jun Mamaghani, Iraj Matz, Adam McGinniss, Michael Milavetz, Barry Munski, Douglas Myers, Brad Newman, Robert Nonte, Stephen Oancea, Cristina

Pedersen, Daphne Petros, Tom Redvers, Nicole Reedy, Kaelan Reissig, Brad Rozelle-Stone, Rebecca Rundquist, Brad Schill, Brian Schlenker, Jared Shea, Heather Shivers, Jed Spaeth, Andria VanLooy, Jeffrey Wahl, Faith Walker, Stephanie Wilson, Nick Wise, Richard Worley, Deborah Xiao, Feng Zerr, Ryan

3.

The following members of the Senate were absent:

Adjekum, Daniel
Borowicz, Taylor
Chew, Jack
Denny, Dawn
Halcrow, Steven
Halgren, Cara
Hufford, Jordan

Kitzes, Adam
Korsmo, Danielle
Kostrzewski, Diana
Lian, Gracie
Linder, Meloney
Link, Eric
Menard, Dominique

Mihelich, John Orvedal, Casey Perkins, Dexter Peterson, Karen Sheridan, William Tande, Brian Weber, Bret

4.

Ms. Oancea thanked everyone for voting for her. Ms. Oancea introduced herself and introduced President Armacost. President Armacost welcomed everyone back on campus. President Armacost discuss the vibrancy on campus, the opening of the Memorial Union, and the continued construction. He also discussed his guiding principles for continued growth. Following the welcome, Ms. Oancea covered the University Senate rules and procedures as well as parliamentary procedure.

Ms. Oancea made comments on the coming year - continuing commitment to shared governance, supporting each other through the ongoing pandemic, and encouraging collaboration for greater initiatives and eco-friendly sustainability.

6.

Mr. Millspaugh provided an update from the Council of College Faculties. The CCF has not met since the last senate meeting. They will meet next week. There are some concerns about free speech bill as well as the challenge bill.

7.

Mr. Schill updated the Senate on the status of Staff Senate. Mr. Schill discussed the health resolution. The health resolution did not pass by majority. The state staff senate is exploring tuition waivers across the NDUS system. Mr. Schill stated that staff senate is looking at restarting the staff development program. Mr. Schill said the staff senate is looking to create an Angel fund.

8.

Mr. Reedy updated the Senate on the status of Student Senate. Mr. Reedy stated that student government is working on lots of issues, but they are focusing on experiential learning and increasing high impact practices.

9.

Mr. Holm provided the Provost updates. Mr. Link could not attend today. Mr. Link has met with the Senate Executive Committee. Mr. Link is a proponent and very much into shared governance stated Mr. Holm. Mr. Holm stated Mr. Link will take feedback from anyone on campus.

10.

Quorum was established

11.

Without objection, the minutes from the University Senate on May 6, 2021, were approved without objection.

12.

The following announcements were made:

- a. Ms. Oancea, SEC Updates
  - Summer graduation candidates were approved.
- b. Ms. Oancea, SEC Updates
  - Approved changes to faculty handbook related to HB 1503.
- c. Ms. Oancea, SEC Updates
  - Approved COI in Research Interim Policy.
- d. Ms. Oancea, SEC Updates
  - Approved English 110/130 transfer agreement with NDSU.

The twenty minute question period opened at 4:00pm. Mr. Jendrysik ask why the fighting hawk statue was removed. President Armacost stated that is was removed to preserve the statue. The statue will be reinstalled inside the Memorial Union. Mr. Iseminger asked why the bookstore was having issues again. Ms. Oancea will look into it. Mr. Shivers stated that he was unaware of these issues. Mr. Shivers will follow up. Mr. Brandt stated that more students are using the bookstore to purchase their books. Mr. Hammond asked why the bookstore only orders 60% of the class capacity. Mr. Shivers stated that this may be a practice of Follett. Mr. Munski stated that 60% is a national standard as some students do not buy books and some students purchase from other sources.

14.

Ms. Oancea called attention to the Faculty Handbook updates. Without objection, the updates were accepted and filed.

15.

Ms. Oancea called attention to the ENGL 110/130 transfer agreement with NDSU. Without objection, the agreement was accepted and filed.

16.

Ms. Oancea called attention to the University Curriculum Committee Report. Without objection, the report was accepted and filed.

17.

Ms. Oancea called attention to the ballots for Senate Vice Chair/Chair Elect, faculty representative on the Senate Executive Committee, two faculty members on the Committee on Committees, staff representative to the Senate Executive Committee, student representative to the Senate Executive Committee. The election results are as follows:

Ms. Gjellstad moved to allow Ms. Legerski to work on the ballot in Qualtrics and send out with a 24-hour response time and Ms. Walker seconded. The motion carried with 98% of the vote.

The final results of the election are as follows:

Senate Vice Chair/Chair Elect - Robert (Bob) Newman Faculty Representative on SEC - Deborah Worley Faculty Representatives on the C on C - Sandra Moritz, Rhonda Owens Staff Representative on SEC - Brian Schill Student Representative on SEC - Kaelan Reedy

The meeting adjourned at 4:36 p.m.

Scott Correll, Secretary University Senate