1.

The November meeting of the University Senate was held at 3:35 p.m. on Thursday, November 2, 2017, in Room 113, Education. Chair Nancy Vogeltanz-Holm presided.

Grijalva, James

2.

The following members of the Senate were present:

Alshami, Ali	
Amann, Paige	
Bachmeier, Cole	
Berg, Justin	
Buettner, Kevin	
Campbell, Caroline	
Casler, James	
Christopherson, Anne	
Clauson, Tyler	
Correll, Scott	
Dauphinais, Kirsten	
DiLorenzo, Thomas	
Dodge, Michael	
Du, Guodong	
Dunnigan, Gerri	
Ernst, Julia	
Flynn, Amber	
Gabriel, Holly	
Gedafa, Daba	

Halgren, Cara Hanson, Erik Harsell, Dana Holm, Jeff Hurley, Roxanne Iseminger, Colt Jendrysik, Mark Jeno, Susan Keengwe, Jared Laguette, Soizik Legerski, Elizabeth Liang, Lewis Light, Steve Lim, Howe Lindseth, Paul Mochoruk, James Mostad-Jensen, Anne Murphy, Eric

Neubert, Jeremiah Oncel, Nuri Petros, Tom Rand, Kathryn Smart, Kathy Sturges, Denyse Takahashi, Shuzo Todhunter, Paul Vandegerg, Greg Vogeltanz-Holm, Nancy Wang, Enru Weaver-Hightower, Becky Williamson, Stephen Yang, Cai Xia Zerr, Ryan Zhao, Julia Zimmerman, Sonia

3.

The following members of the Senate were absent:

Brekke, Alice	Kennedy, Mark	Roux, Gayle
Carlson, Hannah	Knowlton, Lucas	Schaefbauer, Jordan
Dabrowski, Zach	McGimpsey, Grant	Sens, Donald
Doze, Van	Mikulak, Marcia	Storrs, Debbie
El-Rewini, Hesham	Ogle, Jamisen	Tang, Clement
Faruque, Saleh	Peterson, Shawn	Walker, Stephanie
Gupta, Surojit	Petschen, Chris	Wynne, Joshua
Heitkamp, Thomasine	Quintero, Bryan	Zhang, Xiaodong
Johnson, Peter	Reed, Patricia	
Juntunen, Cindy	Rogers, Aimee	

4.

The following announcements were made:

- Ms. Vogeltanz-Holm called attention to the Senate Budget Committee and F&A plans by college.
- Ms. Vogeltanz-Holm provided an update to the Promotion, Tenure, and Evaluation Working Group. The revised document is now available. It should be available for a vote at the December Senate meeting.

- Ms. Vogeltanz-Holm provided an update regarding Council of College Faculties (CCF) activities. There is now an Investment Policy Statement provided by NDUS. State Board of Higher Education Chairman Morton responded to CCF concerns regarding the Chancellor Evaluation process.
- Ms. Vogeltanz-Holm announced that she, Cole Bachmeier, Stacey Borboa-Peterson, and Jim Mochoruk would work on the first draft of updating the UND mission.
- Ms. Vogeltanz-Holm reminded senators to complete Title IX training.

5.

Quorum was established.

6.

Ms. Vogeltanz-Holm called attention to the minutes of the October 5, 2017 meeting. Without objection, the minutes were approved.

7.

Ms. Vogeltanz-Holm reported on the October 18, 2017 Senate Executive Committee (SEC) meeting. She stated that the Provost has advised that an Administrative Evaluation Procedure draft has been created. The Provost has also advised that faculty travel data has been collected and will be shared with the Budget Committee, the Senate Executive Committee and Senators. The SEC has commenced reviewing the UND Constitution. The SEC supports the Faculty Handbook Committee's decision to update the Senate yearly. SEC members agree that Essential Studies Committee activities should be reviewed by the Senate.

8.

The 20-minute question period opened at 4:01 p.m.

Mr. Petros asked if the Title IX training notice was widely distributed. It was concluded that it was.

Ms. Weaver-Hightower asked if the study of travel costs would include evaluating how much conferences cost today. Ms. Vogeltanz-Holm stated that there is not a lot of time or resources to devote to this endeavor, but that she plans to ask the Budget Committee to review this issue and would pass along this suggestion.

Ms. Christopherson yielded her time to Mr. Sheridan. Mr. Sheridan asked if changes, such as those proposed by the Essential Studies committee, had sufficient evidence to support their use. He also asked if high impact practices would be suggested or mandatory for faculty. Ms. Vogeltanz-Holm stated that this concern has been raised to the Essential Studies Committee chair and Program Director. Mr. Petros asked about the efficacy of high impact practices. Ms. Vogeltanz-Holm stated that we should examine the evidence base for proposed changes and the effectiveness of curricular change outcomes.

Mr. Oncel commented that the UND website main page only showed students having fun. He wondered why more educational/academic opportunities were not shown. Ms. Vogeltanz-Holm agreed that we should be promoting opportunities that are more educational. Mr. Jendrysik inquired about the website not being mobile friendly as well as Blackboard downtime and internet problems. Mr. Bachmeier stated there is a website overhaul underway. Mr. DiLorenzo stated that April would be the launch of the mobile-friendly website. He also stated that the President and Provost have been working with the NDUS Chancellor to help resolve problems with Blackboard and internet downtimes.

Ms. Weaver-Hightower inquired as to what the Senate Scholarly Activities Committee (SSAC) is doing now that they do not award faculty travel funds. Ms. Vogeltanz-Holm stated that there have been communications with SSAC and the Faculty Instructional Development Committee chairs and with the Senate Budget Committee to continue discussing solutions.

Mr. Gedafa asked why the parking lots are in poor shape and if maintenance for the lots is planned. Mr. DiLorenzo stated that we should invite Mike Pieper, Associate Vice President for Facilities, to a future meeting to give an update. Ms. Vogeltanz-Holm said that the Senate Committee on Committees would be appointing a faculty member to the committee studying these activities.

The question period was closed at 4:21 p.m.

9.

Ms. Vogeltanz-Holm called attention to the Senate Honors Committee annual report. Without objection, the report was filed.

10.

Ms. Vogeltanz-Holm called attention to the Senate Essential Studies Committee annual report. Without objection, the report was filed.

11.

Ms. Vogeltanz-Holm called attention to the October University Senate Curriculum Committee report. Mr. Holm moved to approve, Mr. Gedafa seconded and the motion passed with 94% in favor. Individual votes were as follows (A=Yay; B=Nay; C=Abstain):

Alshami	A	Flynn	С
Amman	A	Gabriel	А
Bachmeier	A	Gedafa	А
Berg	A	Grijalva	А
Buettner	A	Hanson	А
Campbell	A	Harsell	А
Casler	A	Holm	А
Christopherson	A	Hurley	А
Scott	A	Iseminger	А
Dauphinais	С	Jendrysik	А
DiLorenzo	A	Jeno	А
Dodge	A	Keengwe	А
Du	A	Laguette	А
Dunnigan	A	Legerski	А
Ernst	A	Liang	А

Light	A	Takahashi	А
Lim	A	Todhunter	А
Lindseth	A	Vandeberg	А
Mochoruk	A	Vogeltanz-Holm	А
Mostad-Jensen	A	Wang	А
Murphy	A	Weaver-Hightower	А
Neubert	A	Williamson	А
Oncel	A	Yang	А
Petros	A	Zerr	А
Rand	С	Zhao	А
Smart	A	Zimmerman	А
Sturges	A		

12.

The meeting adjourned at 4:26 p.m.

Scott Correll, Secretary University Senate