Minutes of the University Senate Meeting September 7, 2017

1.

The September meeting of the University Senate was held at 3:35 p.m. on Thursday, September 7, 2017, in Room 113, Education. Past Chair Dana Harsell opened the meeting and Chair Nancy Vogeltanz-Holm presided.

2.

The following members of the Senate were present:

Alshami, Ali Amman, Paige Brekke, Alice Bachmeier, Cole Berg, Justin Buettner, Kevin Campbell, Caroline Carlson, Hannah Casler, James Christopherson, Anne Clauson, Tyler Correll, Scott Dabrowski, Zach Dauphinais, Kirsten DiLorenzo, Thomas Dodge, Michael Du, Guodong Dunnigan, Gerri El-Rewini, Hesham Ernst, Julia Flynn, Amber

Gabriel, Holly Gedafa, Daba Grijalva, James Halgren, Cara Harsell, Dana Heitkamp, Thomasine Holm, Jeff Hurley, Roxanne Iseminger, Colt Jendrysik, Mark Jeno, Susan Juntunen, Cindy Keengwe, Jared Knowlton, Lucas Laquette, Soizik Legerski, Elizabeth Liang, Lewis Lim, Howe Lindseth, Paul Mostad-Jensen, Anne Murphy, Eric

Ogle, Jamisen Peterson, Shawn Petros, Tom Reed, Patricia Rogers, Aimee Sens, Donald Sturges, Denyse Takahashi, Shuzo Todhunter, Paul Vandegerg, Greg Vogeltanz-Holm, Nancy Walker, Stephanie Wang, Enru Weaver-Hightower, Becky Williamson, Stephen Yang, Cai Xia Zerr, Ryan Zhanq, Xiaodong Zhao, Julia

3.

The following members of the Senate were absent:

Doze, Van
Faruque, Saleh
Gupta, Surojit
Hanson, Erik
Johnson, Peter
Kennedy, Mark
Light, Steve
McGimpsey, Grant

Mikulak, Marcia Mochoruk, James Neubert, Jeremiah Oncel, Nuri Petschen, Chris Quintero, Bryan Rand, Kathryn Roux, Gayle Schaefbauer, Jordan Smart, Kathy Storrs, Debbie Tang, Clement Wynne, Joshua Zimmerman, Sonia Outgoing Senate Chair Dana Harsell introduced incoming Senate Chair Nancy Vogeltanz-Holm. Ms. Vogeltanz-Holm reviewed the Senate Bylaws, Standing Rules, and Standard Rules of Parliamentary Procedure.

5.

Quorum was established.

6.

Ms. Vogeltanz-Holm called attention to the minutes of the May 4, 2017, meeting. Without objection, the minutes from the May 4, 2017 Senate meeting were approved.

7.

The following announcements were made:

- a. Chair Vogeltanz-Holm, Senate Executive Committee Updates
 - Academic Policy Changes Update, Eight Total
 - Faculty Handbook Updates
 - Promotion, Tenure, and Evaluation document available for comment
 - Review of Senate Executive Committee summer activities
- b. Chair Vogeltanz-Holm, University Council Report
 - University Senate accomplishments
 - Data about net loss of faculty (tenure and non-tenure track) and benefitted staff from budget reductions
 - Goals for the University Senate this year

8.

The 20-minute question period opened at 4:02 p.m.

Mr. Zerr stated that the Promotion, Tenure, and Evaluation Working Group document is available through the end of September for comment. The feedback received by September 15, 2017, will be made public, but will be anonymous. There will be several open fora on this topic (please see the September 6, 2017 issue of UND Today). Mr. Zerr asked if the current feedback form is too short. Mr. Murphy stated that it is too short. Mr. Harsell disagreed. Mr. Petros agreed it was too short. Mr. Grijalva asked if there is a better way to explain what is being changed. Mr. Zerr stated there has been thought behind the changes, but it is not available on the website. Mr. Murphy asked if the Standing Committee on Faculty Rights was consulted for guidance. Mr. Zerr responded in the negative.

Ms. Weaver-Hightower asked if there were any planned ongoing discussions about the Faculty Instructional Development Committee and Scholarly Activities Committee regarding the funding issue. Ms. Vogeltanz-Holm responded that this was discussed at length at the Senate Budget Committee. Mr. Petros asked if there was discussion at the Senate Budget Committee if F&A could be taxed under the MIRA model. Ms. Vogeltanz-Holm responded that it has been discussed.

Ms. Weaver-Hightower asked if the University Senate could be considered a support unit. Ms. Vogeltanz-Holm stated it has been discussed, but it is unknown how to establish new support units.

Mr. Murphy asked what the best practices are in higher education with regards to their Senate structure for funding options. It was asked if F&A would be returned during this fiscal year. Mr. Holm responded that the money percentage was based on the prior year, but the funds were from the current year. Ms. Laguette asked how this would work for a one-year grant. Mr. Holm stated that the Dean's office would have guidance for this situation.

The question period was closed at 4:22 p.m.

9.

Ms. Vogeltanz-Holm called attention to the actions the Senate Executive Committee took over the summer. Without objection, the Senate approved the summer actions of the Senate Executive Committee.

10.

Ms. Vogeltanz-Holm called attention to the consent calendar. Without objection, the Senate approved the consent calendar.

11.

Ms. Vogeltanz-Holm called attention to the ballots for Senate Vice-Chair/Chair Elect, faculty representative on the Senate Executive Committee, two Senate faculty members on the Committee on Committees, staff representative on the Senate Executive Committee, and student representative on the Senate Executive Committee. The election results are as follows:

Senate Vice-Chair/Chair Elect - Paul Todhunter (66% of votes) Faculty Representative on the Senate Executive Committee - Mark Jendrysik (53% of votes on $2^{\rm nd}$ ballot)

Faculty Representatives on the Committee on Committees - Dana Harsell and Holly Gabriel (both positions unopposed)

Staff Representative on the Senate Executive Committee - Amber Flynn (unopposed)

Student Representative on the Senate Executive Committee – Cole Bachmeier (unopposed) $\,$

12.

Mr. Harsell moved to approve the changes to the University Curriculum Committee charge. Ms. Weaver-Hightower seconded it. A discussion ensued. The motion carried with 57% voting in favor. Senators' votes were the following: A=Aye; B=Nay; C=Abstain

С	Alshami	A	Carlson
В	Amman	A	Casler
A	Bachmeier	В	Christopherson
A	Berg	A	Correll
В	Brekke	A	Dauphinais
В	Buettner	С	DiLorenzo
A	Campbell	В	Dodge

С	Dunnigan	A	Liang
A	El-Rewini	В	Lim
A	Ernst	В	Mostad-Jensen
A	Flynn	A	Murphy
A	Gabriel	A	Oglo
A	Gedafa	A	Peterson
В	Grijalva	В	Petros
С	Halgren	A	Rogers
В	Harsell	В	Sens
A	Heitkamp	A	Sturges
В	Holm	A	Takahashi
A	Hurley	В	Vandeberg
В	Iseminger	A	Walker
A	Jendrysik	A	Wang
В	Jeno	A	Weaver-Hightower
A	Juntunen	A	Williamson
A	Keengwe	С	Yang
A	Knowlton	A	Zerr
В	Laguette	С	Zhang
В	Legerski	A	Zhao

13.

The meeting adjourned at 4:58 p.m.

Scott Correll, Secretary University Senate