Minutes of the University Senate Meeting December 5, 2024

1.

The November meeting of the University Senate was held at 3:30~p.m. on Thursday, December 5, 2024, via Zoom Conference. Chair Zarrina Azizova presided.

2.

The following members of the Senate were present:

Adjekum, Daniel Alberts, Crystal Alghazo, Runna Anderson, Sonya Azizova, Zarrina Bakke, Rebecca Bjorg, Renae Bost-Sandberg, Lisa Chelmo, Hallie Cherry Oliver, Emily Clark, Travis Correll, Scott Dasse, Kimberly Ferguson, Connor Gill, James Gjellstad, Melissa Goldsberry, Daralyn Grabanski, Julie Grave, Shannon Gregg, Cindy Harsell, Dana

Hoffmann, Mark Homstad, Stephanie Hove, Hannah Hume, Wendelin Iiams, Michele Ji, Yun Kinney, Anna Kraus, Robert Kubatova, Alena Legerski, Elizabeth Liang, Lewis Lim, Yeo Howe Linder, Meloney Link, Eric Matz, Adam Mayo, Whitney McGinniss, Michael Millspaugh, Richard Mongeon Stewart, Karla Munski, Douglas Newman, Robert

Oancea, Cristina O'Brien, Kevin Pedersen, Daphne Petros, Thomas Pokornowski, Alex Reading, Patrick Rundquist, Bradley Saga-Leiser, Lea Sauer, Michelle Schweitzer, Kimberly Shogren, Maridee Smart, Kathy Steen, Carla Sum, Paul Swanson, Brenna Tang, Clement Westall, Sara Wild, Brandon Wilson, Amanda Wozniak, Mike

3.

The following members of the Senate were absent:

Armacost, Andrew
Bichel, Rebecca
Brown, Logan
Glaser, Carson
Henley, Amy
Jenkins, Marjorie
Langerud, Heather
LaPlant, Chloe
Lawson-Body, Assion
Malloy, Art

Martin, Kaleb
Montigne, Justin
Moritz, Sandra
Moyer, Dalton
Nelson, Chris
Nelson-Boutros,
Lilien
Orvis, Maya
Pappas, Brian
Partington, Ellie

Rajpathy, Odele Smith, Jobi Snyder, Scott Steidl, Ellen Tande, Brian Tatro, Lauren Wallace, Alfred Wallace, Brandon Witte, Shelbie 4.

Ms. Azizova called the meeting to order and provided opening remarks.

5.

Quorum was established

6.

The minutes from the University Senate on November 7, 2024, were approved and filed.

7.

Without objection, the 2023-24 University Senate Curriculum Committee monthly report was filed.

8.

Without objection, the Essential Studies Program Review report was filed.

9.

Without objection, the Faculty Handbook Committee annual report was filed.

10.

Without objection, the December 2024 Graduation Candidate list was filed.

11.

Ms. Azizova provided a report from the Senate Executive Committee. The Post-Tenure Review Policy Proposal, first draft is available. It was presented by Ms. Robinson. Please provide feedback to Ms. Robinson or Ms. Kubatova via email. There is also a first draft of a proposal to develop a faculty affairs committee as a standing committee of University Senate.

12.

Ms. Alberts provided updates from the Council of College Faculties. CCF continues to review tenure and academic freedom policies. There is a special meeting on December 10, 2024, to discuss. Post-tenure review continues to be discussed. There will be a special meeting of CCF on January 14, 2025, to review the legislative bills.

13.

Ms. Kinney provided updates from the Staff Senate. Tubs of Love donations end tomorrow. Thirty-one Day of Glory winners are being drawn daily. Jeans Give Back donations are given out quarterly.

14.

Mr. Ferguson provided updates from Student Government. There was an allocation for student distress kits. There is an initiative for a grab-and-

go station in the Engineering complex. An upcoming meeting for student fee allocation will be held next week.

15.

Mr. Link provided updates from the Office of the Provost. Semester grades are due on December 24, 2024, at 12:00 Noon. There is an Essential Studies program review available for perusal and feedback. Finalists have been invited for the position of Director of Essential Studies. Dean Brian Tande has accepted a new position as the President of South Dakota School of Mines. There will be an interim dean named for the College of Engineering of Mines. A national search will be launched after the holiday break. Merrifield Hall will be ready for move-in on December 23, 2025. Winter commencement will be held on Friday, December 20, 2024. Please join us at the event. Spring enrollment numbers look good. Some highlights from the SBHE meeting today include Policy 469 that grants authority for institutions to offer dualcredit courses. NDSU has asked permission to offer dual credit in Cass County, North Dakota. UND retains the right to offer courses that are specific only to us.

16.

Mr. Wilson, Mr. Weber, and Ms. Linder provided an overview of UND's legislative priorities for the 2025 session. Mr. Weber discussed the Legislative Affairs committee and its purpose. Mr. Wilson detailed the membership of the Legislative Affairs committee. Ms. Linder shared the Legislative Priorities website and detailed the contents of each session. It can be found at https://und.edu/about/president/legislative/index.html. Ms. Linder reminded everyone of the difference between acting as a private citizen or as a representative of the university.

17.

The twenty-minute question and answer period opened at 4:26 p.m. Ms. Gjellstad asked about any potential overlap between a Faculty Affairs Committee and the Committee for Promotion and Tenure. Ms. Azizova responded with the differences. A follow up question on the differences between other faculty committees. Ms. Legerski had a similar question. Ms. Mayo inquired about the difference between the committee and the faculty affairs office. Ms. Azizova stated that this committee would increase the quality of shared governance. Ms. Legerski asked about policy 469 and if UND is interested in the dual-credit market. Mr. Link stated that the position is that the research universities should be on the same playing field. Ms. Pedersen asked about the Post-Tenure Review proposed policy. Is the onus on the department? Do the department policies have to be consistent with a larger entity? Ms. Robinson stated that the intent was to allow for discipline specific differences. Ms. Gjellstad asked the provost to comment on the Bismarck State College intent to offer 90 credit hour bachelor's degrees. Mr. Link stated that all the Presidents and VPAA have been surveyed by the system to offer comments on offering 90 credit bachelor's degrees. The question-and-answer period ended at 4:53 p.m. with no additional questions.

18.

Mr. Newman moved to extend the QA period by 10 minutes. Ms. Gjellstad seconded the motion. The motion carried.

There were no matters arising presented.

20.

The meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Scott Correll, Secretary University Senate