Local recording is available to all users. Local recording allows participants to record meeting video and audio locally to a computer. The recorded files can be uploaded to a file storage service like Dropbox, Google Drive, or a streaming service like YuJa, YouTube or Vimeo.
If you are recording your meeting or webinar locally to your computer, you can access the local recordings files on the computer that recorded the meeting.
See the Finding and viewing local recordings help article for information on locating, accessing and converting local recordings.
After you end a Zoom meeting, your recorded meeting will convert.
See the Troubleshooting failed conversion of local recordings help article for some common local recording conversion issues and troubleshooting suggestions.
Cloud recording is available by request for use in courses. When you record a meeting and choose Record to the Cloud, the video, audio, and chat text are recorded in the Zoom cloud. The recording files can be downloaded to a computer or streamed from a browser.
Recording management allows account owners and admins to manage their users' cloud recordings, including view, delete, and share the video, audio, transcript, and chat files.
If you're a user, recording management allows you to view, delete, and share your own cloud recordings.
See the Managing and sharing cloud recordings help article for details.
Audio transcription automatically transcribes the audio of a meeting or webinar that you record to the cloud. After this transcript is processed, it appears as a separate VTT file in the list of recorded meetings. In addition, you have the option to display the transcript text within the video itself, similar to a closed caption display
The transcript is divided into sections, each with a timestamp that shows how far into the recording that portion of the text was recorded. You can edit the text to more accurately capture the words, or to add capitalization and punctuation, which are not captured by the transcript.
You can delete all local recordings saved on your computer at any time.
You can also delete cloud recordings in your account, all recordings in search results, or recordings for a specific meeting. This will move the files to the trash and you can permanently delete them from the trash manually. If you don't permanently delete them manually, they will be deleted after 30 days. Files in the trash don't count towards your cloud-recording storage limit. If you do not delete your cloud recordings, due to a limited amount of cloud storage, cloud recordings will be deleted at the end of the academic year. A notice will be sent prior to any recordings being removed. A request must be completed to use cloud storage.
See the Deleting local or cloud recordings help article for details on how to delete recordings.
See the Frequently asked questions about local and cloud recording help article for common questions and suggested solutions.
If you are using join before host to have your participants join the meeting before or without the host, you may want another participant to start a recording.
See the Recording without the Host help article for information about local and cloud recording without the host.
The recording layout follows the video layout of the participant or host that started the recording. For example, if the host grants permission to a participant to record, and the participants starts a local recording while in active speaker view, the recording layout will be in active speaker view.
See the Recording Layouts help article for details on these settings.
Cloud recordings of meetings or webinars can be made on-demand and require viewers to register before receiving access. Recording registration can be customized with custom fields and manual or automatic approval. The link to access the recording will not change, but once the on-demand option is turned on for a recording, it will take viewers to the registration page, instead of directly to the cloud recording.
See the On-demand recordings help article for information about making, an on-demand recording, changing registration settings and viewing registrant information.
Zoom will always notify meeting participants that a meeting is being recorded. It is not possible to disable this notification. For participants joining by computer or mobile device, the screen will display a recording notification. For participants who joined audio by phone, they will hear an audio prompt when they first join the meeting if it is already being recorded or at the time that recording is started.
See the Recording notifications help article for more information.
When you click a video recording on the My Recordings page, the playback video launches in a new browser tab, which includes controls for Download and Share. You can also set a playback range for the shared video so that it starts and ends at the times you specify, removing unneeded portions from the beginning and end.
Playback range does not trim your recordings. If the recording is downloaded, it will still be the original length, regardless of the playback range you set.
See the Cloud recording playback help article for more information.